The Daily Wrazz’s Song of the Year

2 Jan

I hate compiling lists. Hate it, hate it, hate it, ugh, bleagh. But every year the mags and Internets sidle up to yers truly, wrangling rustbucket data from this weary sausage I call home, forcing me to scrape way back: Geez, was NiggyTardust! this year? (Nope.) I really dug the Erykah Badu. Gnarls Barkley‘s “Who’s Gonna Save My Soul” was a playlist BFF (still my favorite lyric of ’08: “Got some bad news this morning/which in turn made my day”). And derisive hipster snarl ‘n’ snort be damned, I identified with Beck‘s Modern Guilt more than I cared to admit. (Wrestled with the matter here.) But as the months snored past and the singles disintegrated in memory, the one Guilt track that stuck with me was “Volcano,” perhaps my generation’s most astute observation on slipping beyond cultural prime into numb middle-aged spectator.

Other naught-eight loves, off the top of my head: The Gutter Twins (Mark Lanegan AND Greg Dulli? Drag my ass to the dark side pronto!) She & Him, Local H, ummm, Anthony Hamilton (reviewed), Marco Benevento, Leviathan Brothers, but rank ’em in stone for all time? Fuck that. I can, however, announce my song of the year — drum roll, please: the Melvins’ “Savage Hippy.” Redolent in “un”s: uncontrolled, unfettered, unstoppable SCUZZ. From the album Nude With Boots. Pick it up soon, before it tracks you down and strips muscle from scrote from bone.

Leave a Reply

